Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

Placards annoy Lok Sabha Speaker

New Delhi, Sat, 26 Nov 2011 ANI

New Delhi, Nov 26 (ANI): Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar has put on record her "displeasure" over members displaying placards and exhibits in the Lower House that have nothing to do with the ongoing business in parliament.


A Lok Sabha bulletin said members are reminded at the start of every session and on regular intervals about the Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business that prohibit "display of flags, emblems or any exhibits in the House.


They have been urged to better study the Handbook for members on parliamentary customs, which state that "display of exhibits on the floor of the House is not in order."


It has become almost a daily practice that members disrupting the House, spring to their feet with placards, banners and newspapers. On Friday, BJP lawmakers flaunted streamers on foreign direct investment (FDI), while Congress members from Telangana region flashed placards demanding a Bill for the formation of a new state. AIADMK members displayed copies of the Tamil newspaper "Dinamani" on the movie "Dam999" that has been banned in the state.


The rules allow the chair to discipline errant members by asking them to leave the House, or even suspending them, but it becomes almost impossible when so many members flout rules through the display of all sorts of placards and other material.


The Speaker also constituted ten new parliamentary committees, including the 15-member Committee on Privileges that is continued to be headed by Congress MP P C Chacko, who is also Chairman of the Joint Parliamentary Committee on Telecom.


BJP member and former union minister Maneka Gandhi is chairperson of the 15-member Committee on Government assurances while Chandresh Kumar heads a 30-member Committee on Empowerment of Women, which also has ten members from the Rajya Sabha including DMK's Kanimozhi.


Members of the women empowerment committee include Priya Dutt, Jyoti Mirdha, Meenakshi Natarajan, Yashodhara Raje Scindia, Sumitra Mahajan, Shobhana Bhartia, Prabha Thakur and Maya Singh, the last three from the Rajya Sabha.


Other panels constituted and their chairpersons are: Committee on Petitions (Shiv Sena's Anant Geete), Private Members' Bills and Resolutions (Karia Munda), Committee on subordinate legislation (P Karunakaran), Rules Committee (Speaker herself heads it), Library Committee (Karia Munda) and 15-member joint committee on salaries and allowances of MPs, whose chairman will be elected by the members themselves. (ANI)


Read More: Delhi | Fri | Dina | Mane | Raje | BJP | Congress

Manohar Lal being presented with a memento
Manoj Tiwari BJP Relief meets the family members of late Ankit Sharma
Haryana CM Manohar Lal congratulate former Deputy PM Lal Krishna Advani on his 92nd birthday
King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.