Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

77 percent turnout in third phase of West Bengal polls

Kolkata, Wed, 27 Apr 2011 ANI

Kolkata, Apr 27 (ANI): Around seventy seven per cent voting was recorded in the third phase of West Bengal assembly polls in 75 seats covering Kolkata, North and South 24 Parganas districts on Wednesday.


State Chief Electoral Officer Sunil Gupta said that polling was by and large peaceful, barring a few minor incidents.


Seventeen Presiding officers were removed for dereliction of duties in North 24 Pargana and Kolkata. Seventy-four Electronic Voting Machines were replaced due to technical snag.


The special observer appointed by the Election Commission S. Srinivasan has expressed satisfaction over the voting in the three districts.


An electorate of 1.44 crore in the three districts were eligible to elect their representatives from among 479 contestants.


Among the important political figures whose fates were sealed in ballots include Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, Finance Minister Asim Dasgupta, Housing Minister Gautam Deb, Transport Minister Ranjit Kundu, Land Revenue Minister Abdur Rejjak Mollah, Sports Minister Kanti Ganguli, FICCI secretary general Amit Mitra, Leader of the Opposition Partha Chatterjee and Kolkata Mayor Shovan Chatterjee.


The CPI-M was contesting in 61 constituencies, the CPI three, the Trinamool 70, the Congress five, Forward Bloc seven, the BJP 75, Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) three and the BSP 51 constituencies.


More than 17,700 polling booths had been set up in three districts. 50 general oberservers, eleven expenditure and two police observers are constantly monitoring the poll process.


The first and second phase of voting took place on April 18 and 23 respectively.


The third phase will take place on April 27, fourth phase on May 3, fifth phase on May 7 and sixth phase on May 10. (ANI)


Read More: 24 Parganas | South Goa | Ganguli | BJP | Congress | CPI

Manohar Lal being presented with a memento
Manoj Tiwari BJP Relief meets the family members of late Ankit Sharma
Haryana CM Manohar Lal congratulate former Deputy PM Lal Krishna Advani on his 92nd birthday
King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.