Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

UP poll: SP parliamentary board meet to decide on who will be CM

Lucknow, Wed, 07 Mar 2012 ANI

Lucknow, Mar 7 (ANI): The Samajwadi Party (SP) will hold its Parliamentary Board meeting here today to decide it's chief ministerial candidate.


"The parliamentary board of the party will meet on Wednesday during which the name of the party chief ministerial candidate will be decided," party spokesman Ram Gopal Yadav said.


Tuesday belonged to Mulayam Singh- led Samajwadi Party, as it rode on an anti-incumbency wave to dislodge incumbent chief minister Mayawati, who was looking to win a clear majority for her Bhaujan Samaj Party (BSP).


SP won an absolute majority by winning 224 seats in the 403 member assembly. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) was left far behind with 80 seats. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 47 seats.


Congress won 28 seats. Congress ally RLD won 9 seats, the NCP one, while others have won 14 seats .


Several prominent leaders from most of the parties have lost the elections.


Among the prominent winners were Leader of Opposition in the state Assembly Shivpal Singh Yadav, who won from Jaswantnagar, Congress state unit President Rita Bahuguna Joshi from Lucknow Cantt, BJP leader Kalraj Mishra from Lucknow East and Uma Bharti from Charkhari.


Mohammad Azam Khan of the Samajwadi Party won the Rampur seat and RLD MP Jayant Chaudhary has won the Matt seat in Mathura district. (ANI)


Manohar Lal being presented with a memento
Manoj Tiwari BJP Relief meets the family members of late Ankit Sharma
Haryana CM Manohar Lal congratulate former Deputy PM Lal Krishna Advani on his 92nd birthday
King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.