Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

BJP wins four, Congress one in Karnataka

National,Politics, Sat, 16 May 2009 IANS

Bangalore, May 16 (IANS) The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won four of Karnataka's 28 Lok Sabha constituencies, while the Congress wrested the Mysore seat, according to the results declared by noon Saturday.


According to the election officials, the BJP has retained three seats - Chikkodi, Bijapur (SC) and Bellary (ST) - while it bagged the redrawn Haveri constituency in Malnad region.



The Congress wrested the Mysore parliamentary seat from the BJP, when its candidate A.H. Vishwanath defeated sitting MP C.H. Vijayashankar by a margin of 7,691 votes.



In Chikkodi, BJP nominee Katti Ramesh Vishwanath defeated P.B. Hukkeri of the Congress by 55,049 votes, while in Bijapur (SC), the party's Ramesh Chandapur Jigajinagi defeated P.K. Rathod of the Congress by 42,404 votes.



In the iron-ore-rich Bellary (ST) constituency, BJP's lone woman candidate in the state J. Shanta defeated N.Y. Hanumanthappa of the Congress by a slender margin of 2,243 in a close contest.



In Haveri, Udasi Shivkumar Chanabasappa defeated Saleem Ahamed of the Congress by 88,220 votes.


Read More: Bijapur

Manohar Lal being presented with a memento
Manoj Tiwari BJP Relief meets the family members of late Ankit Sharma
Haryana CM Manohar Lal congratulate former Deputy PM Lal Krishna Advani on his 92nd birthday
King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.