Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

Counting begins for Goa Assembly polls

Panaji, Goa, Tue, 05 Jun 2007 NI Wire

Untitled Document

June 05: The counting of votes casted in the assembly elections Goa begins this morning. There are 202 members in the race for the 40 member constituency.

The main contestants in power and the major parties are Congress and BJP. The counting of votes is being held at three different stations at south Goa, amid tight security.

The election process had its drama with a severe downpour. Earlier, on Saturday, the state Chief Minister, Rane left without exercising his franchise as he was not carrying his Electoral Photo Identity Card. Election Commission had made Electoral Photo Identity Card (EPIC) obligatory for casting vote and for those who are yet to be covered with EPIC had to produce alternative identity documents to vote.

It is a big day for BJP and bigger for Manohat Parrikar. Parrikar, being the race horse for BJP, is contesting for the Chief Minister’s post. According to latest reports Parrikar has won in Panaji with 1444 votes.

"The rules are strict but as a common citizen I will have to follow it," Rane said. "I will be back with the EPIC and vote," the Chief Minister, who is contesting from Poriem constituency, said.

Further, BJP nominee and sitting MLA Vijay Pai Khot today won the Canacona Assembly seat by defeating Congress candidate Sanjay Bhandekar by 226 votes. Another BJP leader Laxmikant Parsekar won Mandrem seat by 1710 votes.

Filipe Nery Rodrigues (Congress) won Velim seat by 2,732 seats. Congress minister Digambar Kamat was leading in Margao assembly constituency as counting of votes for elections to 40-member Goa Assembly began here this morning.

However Sitting MLA Ramrao Desai of BJP was trailing in Curchorem seat and Shaik Mohammad Eqbal of Save Goa Front was leading In Mormugao seat.

Earlier on Monday, the leaders of ruling Congress and main Opposition BJP claimed they will form the next government in the state.

"Just wait and see. Congress will continue in the seat as people appreciate our work," Rane also said.

However no one can deny the fact that the state has witnessed political instability, with as many as 15 governments in the last 17 years.

Read More: Margao

Manohar Lal being presented with a memento
Manoj Tiwari BJP Relief meets the family members of late Ankit Sharma
Haryana CM Manohar Lal congratulate former Deputy PM Lal Krishna Advani on his 92nd birthday
King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.