Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

14-year old Lydia Ko becomes golf's youngest tour winner

London , Mon, 30 Jan 2012 ANI

London, Jan 30 (ANI): At 14, New Zealand amateur Lydia Ko has become the youngest winner of a professional golf tour event.


She claimed victory at the New South Wales Open by four shots and broke the men's mark set by Japan's Ryo Ishikawa at 15 years, eight months.


Amy Yang was the previous women's record holder after she won the Australian Ladies Masters at the age of 16 years, 192 days old.


"To be part of history is like a miracle. It's not something you can have by clicking your fingers," The BBC quoted KO, as saying.


She came close of winning the same tournament last year, aged 13 but missed a putt on the last green to lose by one shot.


But this year she kept her cool to record a three-under-par final round of 69 beating Becky Morgan of Wales in the 54-hole tournament. England's Laura Davies closed with a 71 to finish 14 shots off the pace.


Ko was born in South Korea but came to New Zealand in 2004.


"My driver and iron play were probably the nicest to me over the past two days. I also putted well, but I was in good position on most of the greens because I was able to make approaches from good places on the fairways," she added.


Ko has scheduled to play in about 30 tournaments this year, including professional events over the next two weeks.


"I'll play in mostly amateur tournaments after that, and my schedule looks pretty busy for several months," she further added. (ANI)


Manohar Lal being presented with a memento
Manoj Tiwari BJP Relief meets the family members of late Ankit Sharma
Haryana CM Manohar Lal congratulate former Deputy PM Lal Krishna Advani on his 92nd birthday
King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.