Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

Varun Gandhi nominated to key consultative committee on defence

New Delhi, Tue, 29 Sep 2009 ANI

New Delhi, Sep 29 (ANI): Young Bharatiya Janata Party leader Varun Gandhi has been nominated as a member of the key parliamentary consultative committee on defence in order to groom him as a future leader of the party and give valuable parliamentary experience.


Gandhi is among 30 members of the consultative committee for the Ministry of Defence that has been tasked with the responsibility of surveillance of the administration with a focus on the long-term plans of the ministry.


Defence Minister A.K. Antony will be the chairman of the committee with Minister of States for Parliamentary Affairs Prithviraj Chavan and V. Narayanasamy being its ex-officio members. M.M. Pallam Raju, Minister of State for Defence is also a member of the committee.


Nineteen members are from the Lok Sabha and seven from the Rajya Sabha have been appointed to the committee.


The term of each of the committee members has been fixed at one year. Ten members belong to the Congress Party; five to the Bharatiya Janata Party, two each from the Shiv Sena, Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party, and one each from the Biju Janata Dal, Trinamool Congress, Nationalist Congress Party, JD (U) and the CPI (M).


Prominent committee members are Murli Manohar Joshi, Sushma Swaraj, Varun Gandhi, Naveen Jindal, Suresh Kalmadi, V. Kishore Chandra Deo, and Sudip Bandhopadhyay. By Praful Kumar Singh (ANI)


Read More: Jind

Manohar Lal being presented with a memento
Manoj Tiwari BJP Relief meets the family members of late Ankit Sharma
Haryana CM Manohar Lal congratulate former Deputy PM Lal Krishna Advani on his 92nd birthday
King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.